2023 - 2023 Democratic Republic of Congo General Election (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

The people of the Democratic Republic of Congo will be heading to the polls come 20th December 2023 to elect a president who will lead the country for the next 5 years. Approximately 44 million registered voters from a population of roughly 102 million are expected to participate in this very important exercise to elect a president, members of the national legislature, as well as local councilors.
In all, 24 candidates have been cleared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (CENI) to contest the upcoming election. However, analysts predict that the race will be keenly contested among 4 contestants. They are: Incumbent President Felix Tshisekedi, former Oil Executive Martin Fayulu, former Katanga Governor Moise Katumbi, and Nobel Prize-Winning Gynaecologist Dr Dennis Mukwege.
The Democratic Republic of the Congo uses the first-past-the-post voting system for its presidential elections. This means that the candidate who receives the most votes in the first round is declared the winner and becomes the next president.
The president is mandated by law to serve a five-year term, renewable only once.

Results Summary

Photo Candidate Political Party Total Votes
image of Soborabo Tebabho Radjabho Soborabo Tebabho Radjabho Congolais Unis pour le Changement (CUC) --
image of Constant Tungunga Mutamba Constant Tungunga Mutamba Dynamique Progressiste (DYPRO) --
image of Moise Chapwe Katumbi Moise Chapwe Katumbi ENSEMBLE --