Elections In Africa - News In Brief

Upcoming Elections

Past Elections
Cote d'Ivoire-28 Nov 2010
Niger-31 Jan 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2008
Malawi-20 May 2014
Mozambique-28 Oct 2009
Namibia-27 Nov 2009
Mauritania-18 Jul 2009
Botswana-16 Oct 2009
Togo-04 Mar 2010
Guinea-27 Jun 2010
Comoros-11 Oct 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2012
Egypt-31 Dec 2015
Tanzania-25 Oct 2015
Central African Republic -27 Dec 2015
Cape Verde -28 Aug 2016
About AEP
The African Elections Project :  your authoritative African Elections Information and Knowledge online portal, covering elections across the continent

Projecto Eleições Africanas: seu portal autorizado para informação e conhecimento sobre Eleições Africanas. Cobrindo eleições por toda Áfrca.

Le projet sur les elections en Afrique: votre portail exclusif et credible d'information et de connaissance en ligne, qui couvre les élections à travers le continent
Date:10 Oct 2016
Ayariga's APC, PPP, PNC & others disqualified from 2016 polls

The Electoral Commission has disqualified Hassan Ayariga’s All Progressive Congress (APC), the People’s National Convention (PNC), the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), and other parties from contesting in the December elections.

In all, twelve presidential aspirants have been disqualified.

The Electoral Commission Chairperson, Charlotte Osei, who made the announcement at a news conference today [Monday], said those disqualified failed to meet the necessary requirements that makes them eligible to contest.

There were different reasons for which each of the parties were disqualified.

All the parties were supposed to submit their filing fees by midday today [Monday], after an Accra High court dismissed an injunction suit filed by the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) in protest against the fees.

The other disqualified parties are the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), the Independent People’s Party (IPP) led by Kofi Akpalu, Democratic People’s Party (DPP), led by Ward Brew, and Akua’s Donkor’s Ghana Freedom Party (GFP).

Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings’ National Democratic Party (NDP), has also been disqualified for the second time.

An Independent Candidate, Alfred Asiedu Kwame Walker, has also been disqualified.

The PPP had argued that, the GHc50, 000 and GHc10, 000 filing fees for both presidential and parliamentary hopefuls was too high.

The Convention People’s Party’s (CPP) participation, which was earlier in limbo after it failed to meet the deadline for the submission of the filing fees, has been cleared to participate.

The CPP thus joins the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the National Democratic Congress, and Jacob Osei Yeboah, as the only qualified independent presidential candidate.



Get the latest news and updates on elections in Africa by Following us on twitter  @africanelection and like our  facebook page 

Connect With Us

Elections In Africa Calendar

Elections In Africa-Facts Sheet