Elections In Africa - News In Brief

Upcoming Elections

Past Elections
Cote d'Ivoire-28 Nov 2010
Niger-31 Jan 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2008
Malawi-20 May 2014
Mozambique-28 Oct 2009
Namibia-27 Nov 2009
Mauritania-18 Jul 2009
Botswana-16 Oct 2009
Togo-04 Mar 2010
Guinea-27 Jun 2010
Comoros-11 Oct 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2012
Egypt-31 Dec 2015
Tanzania-25 Oct 2015
Central African Republic -27 Dec 2015
Cape Verde -28 Aug 2016
About AEP
The African Elections Project :  your authoritative African Elections Information and Knowledge online portal, covering elections across the continent

Projecto Eleições Africanas: seu portal autorizado para informação e conhecimento sobre Eleições Africanas. Cobrindo eleições por toda Áfrca.

Le projet sur les elections en Afrique: votre portail exclusif et credible d'information et de connaissance en ligne, qui couvre les élections à travers le continent
Date:05 Aug 2016
Zambia 2016 election factsheet

Brief history of Democracy in Zambia

Ten years after Kenneth Kaunda led Zambia to independence from the British in October 24, 1964, he introduced a one-party state system that meant only members of Kaunda’s United National Independence Party (UNIP) participated or contested in the 1973, 1978, 1983 and 1988 elections which he won on each occasion.

A new constitution introduced the first multi-party elections in October 1991 which led to Frederick Chiluba of the Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD) defeating Kaunda by a landslide.

Chiluba amended the constitution and introduced two term limits after he was re-elected in 1996 and barred Kaunda from running again. Since the constitution also barred Chiluba from running for a third term, the MMD elected Levy Mwanawasa as its flagbearer to contest on the ticket of the MMD in the disputed 2001 polls which he won by a slim margin. That notwithstanding, MMD could not win majority in parliament.

Mwanawasa went on to win a second term on September, 2006 with a majority in parliament but died in August 2008 after suffering a stroke. He was succeeded by his vice-president, Rupiah Banda. Banda proceeded to win a presidential by-election in October 2008.

In a peaceful second turnover of power, Banda lost the 2011 election to Michael Sata of the Patriotic Front (PF). Unfortunately, Sata passed away 3 years into his first term, leading his vice, Guy Scott, to succeed him, making Scott the first white President in a Post-Independence era. However, Guy Scott was ineligible to participate in the presidential by-election that followed because his parents were not from Zambia.

Edgar Lungu, a former minister and lawyer, who was endorsed by former president Banda, won the presidential by-election on the ticket of the PF in 2015.
An amended constitution, enacted on 5 January 2016, requires president and vice-president to be elected as running mates on a joint ticket thus the vice completes the incumbent’s term should he/she die in office.

The National Assembly is made up of 150 members, elected to serve five years terms. The constitution gives the president the power to recommend eight special members of parliament, five of whom can be in the cabinet.

Last Presidential Elections: 20th January, 2016
Elections Date: Thursday 11th August, 2016.
President: Edgar Lungu
Vice-President: Inonge Wina
Electoral Management Body: Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) 
Popular Hashtags: #ZambiaDecides, #ZambiaVotes, #Zambia2016

Below are some facts and figures about the 2016 general elections:
• Polls opens at 6:00 hours and closes at 18:00 hours.
• All presidential candidates are required to go through medical tests to prove their fitness.
• A section of the constitution bars citizens whose parents are not born in Zambia from contesting.
• 9 candidates are contesting in the presidential race with just one female amongst them.
• Elections in Zambia are held every five years.
• Each successive Zambian president has served a shorter time in office than his predecessor. - Mr Kaunda leads the way with 27 years and nine days. He is followed by Frederick Chiluba (10 years, 61 days), Levy Mwanawasa (six years, 230 days), Mr Banda (three years, 86 days) and Mr Sata (three years, 35 days).
• Two presidents have died in office
• A president can only serve two 5-year terms.
• A candidate is deemed elected by garnering 50%+1 of votes cast
• The National Assembly is made up of 150 members, elected to serve five year terms.
• An estimated 6.7 million are eligible to vote in the polls. Out of this, 3,375,009 are females, while 3,335,446 are males.
• Prisoners in correctional facilities will not vote in this elections because they were not captured during voters’ registration exercise.
• The ballots for the elections were printed in Dubai.
• The August 11 elections are three-fold: presidential, legislative and local elections and a referendum.
• This elections is expected to the most fiercely contested since the early 1990s
• Incumbent Lungu won last year’s election by just 27,000 votes. 
• The elections will be the second in less than two years
• This will be the first elections to be held under the new electoral legal framework 

Key elections observer groupsSouthern African Developments Community (SADC), European Union (EU), African Union (AU), National Democratic Institute (NDI), International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), The Carter Center, Commonwealth, among others.

Leading Candidates, respective parties and relevant links:
1. Tilyenji Chanda Kaunda: United National Independence Party (UNIP)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/unip.za/

2. Edith Zewelani Nawakwi: Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD)
Website: http://www.fddzambia.org.zm/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FDDZambia/
Twitter: http://www.fddzambia.org.zm/www.twitter.com/fddzambia.zm

3. Edgar Chagwa Lungu [Incumbent]: Patriotic Front (PF)
Website: http://ecl2016.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EdgarChagwaLungu/?fref=ts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EdgarCLungu
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPOo72weQ9C-7dnC7MgsaGg
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/edgar_lungu/

4. Saviour Chishimba: The United Progressive Party (UPP)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/prosperousnewzambia/
Twitter: https://www.facebook.com/chishimbams

5. Wynter Kabimba: Rainbow Party (Rainbow)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Wynter-M-Kabimba-ODS-SC-171419746360733/ /https://web.facebook.com/Rainbow-Party-Zambia-390150647820900
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rainbowzambia

6. Peter Chazya Sinkamba: Green Party (Greens)
Website: http://www.zambiagreens.org/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeterChazyaSinkamba2016/

7. Hakainde Hichilema: United Party for National Development (UPND)

Website: http://hh-zambia.com/
Facebook: http://facebook.com/hakainde.hichilema
Twitter: http://twitter.com/HHichilema
YouTube: http://youtube.com/channel/UCvXpZoWtgm2P4l86DAHuFKA/videos
Flickr: http://flickr.com/129615409@N03

8. Andyford Mayele Banda: People's Alliance for Change (PAC)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/andyfordmayele/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AndyMayele

9. Maxwell Mwamba: Democratic Assembly (DA)

Other key links:


Connect With Us

Elections In Africa Calendar

Elections In Africa-Facts Sheet